Holy Trinity National School

About Holy Trinity National School

Holy Trinity NS is one of 5 parish primary schools in the parish of Sandyford.

The parish has a population of 41,000.  In 2004, the Department of Education sanctioned a new school for the parish under the patronage of the Catholic Archdiocese. The DES purchased the current 2.4 acre site in Glencairn in September 2005. The school opened with 20 pupils on September 1st 2005.

The founder and first chairperson was Fr Eamann Cahill (parish priest of Sandyford 2001-2010). Mr. James Tobin was appointed the school’s first principal. Mrs. Loretta Redmond was appointed deputy principal.

The school took temporary refuge in the parish rooms in St. Mary’s Sandyford for the first six months. This was generously offered by the parish while the development in Glencairn was finalised.

On March 31st 2006, the school, which incorporated two teachers and twenty –one pupils moved to the permanent school site.

Initially, a three unit prefab building was put in place. This was added to each year.

In September 2013, final two temporary rooms were added to the school to accommodate the growing pupil intake. This brought the accommodation to twenty rooms in total. Holy Trinity NS has achieved developing school status each year, thereby the teacher allocation has substantially increased each year.

 The project team was appointed by the Department of Education and Skills (DES) in June 2006. The DES  approved the Stage 2 proposal in November 2011 and following the appointments process Mythen Construction Ltd were appointed as principal contractors in March 2013.

The construction commenced on July 8th 2013. Phase 1 was handed over on April 11th 2014. Phase 2 which includes the remaining classrooms, administration area, school hall and outdoor finishes was completed on December 4th  2014.

The school was officially opened by Minister for Communications Deputy Alex White and Fr Eamann Cahill on March 27th 2015.

Holy Trinity National School opening times

School Opening Times

School commences each morning at 8.50 am.

For junior and senior infants, school will finish at 1.30 pm.

First Class will finish at 2.30 pm.

There are two breaks.

Short Break 10.30 am -10.40 am.

Lunchtime 12.00 noon – 12.30 pm.